skip to Main Content
17th International Conference On Cryptology And Network Security (CANS 2018)

17th International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security (CANS 2018) 

Overview of CANS 2018

The International Conference on Cryptology And Network Security (CANS) is a recognized annual conference, focusing on all aspects of cryptology, and of data, network, and computer security, attracting cutting-edge results from world-renowned scientists in the area. CANS 2018 will be held in  Naples (Italy) in collaboration with Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR) and Parthenope University of Naples. Earlier editions were held in Taipei (’01), San Francisco (’02), Miami (’03), Xiamen (’05), Suzhou (’06), Singapore (‘07), Hong Kong (’08), Kanazawa (’09), Kuala Lumpur (‘10), Sanya (‘11), Darmstadt (’12), Parary (’13), Crete (‘14), Marrakesh (’15), Milan (’16) and Hong Kong (’17). All accepted papers will be presented at the conference and will appear in the conference proceedings, which will be published by Springer in the LNCS series.

Topics of Interest

Areas of interest include (but are not restricted to):

Access Control; Anonymity & Pseudonymity; Applied Cryptography; Attacks & Malicious Code; Authentication, Identification; Biometrics; Block & Stream Ciphers; Blockchain Security and Privacy; Cryptographic Algorithms and Primitivess;  Cryptographic Protocols; Cyberphysical Security; Data and Application Security; Data and Computation Integrity; Data Protection; Denial of Service Protection; Distributed Systems Security; Embedded System Security; Formal Methods for Security; Hash Functions; Identity Management; Key Management; Language-Based Security; Malware Analysis and Detection; Network Security; Peer-to-Peer Security & Privacy; Privacy-Enhancing Technologies; Public Key Cryptography; Secure Distributed Computing; Security Architectures; Security Metrics; Security Models; Security Policies; Security and Privacy for Big Data; Security and Privacy in the Cloud; Security in Content Delivery; Security in Crowdsourcing; Security in Grid Computing; Security in the Internet of Things; Security in Location Services; Security in Pervasive Systems; Security in Social Networks; Sensor Network Security; Trust Management; Usable Security; Virtual Private Networks; Wireless and Mobile Security;

Important Dates

Submission deadline: May 1 May 17, 2018, 23:59 UTC
Notification to authors: July 1, 2018
Camera-Ready: July 23, 2018, 23:59 UTC
Conference: Sept. 30 – Oct. 3, 2018


Venue and Tourist Info

Villa Doria d’Angri

The conference will be held in Villa Doria D’Angri, one of the most beautiful villas in Posillipo, Naples. Wagner himself – enjoying the view of Naples from the Villa Doria d’Angri, where he was a guest in 1880 – found great inspiration here to compose his Parsifal, one of the most important opera of all time. This villa is one of the branches of Parthenope University, it also hosts a maritime museum which counts more than 160 types of ships.

The nearest metro station (~1.2km) is Napoli Mergellina on the metro line 2.

Special Issues

We are negotiating special issues with some journals about topics of relevance for CANS 2018.

Conference Organisation

Program Co-Chairs: Jan Camenisch DFINITY – Zürich, Switzerland
Panagiotis Papadimitratos KTH Stockholm, Sweden
Local and Organising Committee: Vincenzo Iovino (General Chair) University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Elena Pagnin Chalmers University, Sweden
Giuseppe Persiano University of Salerno, Italy
Giovanni Schmid (Org. Chair) CNR-Icar and Parthenope University, Italy
Publicity Chair: Giovanni Livraga University of Milan, Italy
Program Committee: Giuseppe Ateniese Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Tuomas Aura Aalto University, Finnland
Reza Azarderakhsh Florida Atlantic University, USA
Lejla Batina Radboud University, The Netherlands
Elisa Bertino Purdue University, USA
Erik-Oliver Blass Airbus Group Innovationss, France
Sonja Buchegger KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Jan Camenisch IBM Research – Zürich, Switzerland
Jing Deng UNCG, USA
Rafael Dowsley Aarhus University, Denmark
Manu Drijvers IBM Research – Zürich, Switzerland
Rachid El Bansarkhani TU Darmstadt, Germany
Ali El Kaafarani University of Oxford, Mathematical Institute, UK
Pooya Farshim ENS, France
Elena Ferrari University of Insubria, Italy
Lothar Fritsch Karlstad University, Sweden
Chaya Ganesh Aarhus University, Denmark
Peter Gaži IST Austria, Austria
Esha Ghosh Microsoft, USA
Dieter Gollmann Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
Jan Hajny VUT Brno, Czech Republic
Gerhard Hancke City University of Hong Kong, China
Amir Herzberg Dept. of Computer Science, Bar Ilan University, Israel
Julia Hesse ENS & CNRS, France
Sotiris Ioannidis FORTH, Greece
Vincenzo Iovino University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Frank Kargl University of Ulm, Germany
Stefan Katzenbeisser TU Darmstadt, Germany
Florian Kerschbaum University of Waterloo, Canada
Stephan Krenn AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Austria
Ralf Kuesters University of Stuttgart, Germany
Loukas Lazos University of Arizona, USA
Zhe Liu University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Panos Louridas Athens University of Economics and Business and Greek Research and Technology Network, Greece
Songwu Lu University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Evangelos Markatos ICS/FORTH, Greece
Ivan Martinovic University of Oxford, UK
Panagiotis Papadimitratos KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Stefano Paraboschi Università di Bergamo, Italy
Alfredo Rial University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Pierangela Samarati University of Milan, Italy
Alessandra Scafuro NCSU, USA
Nolen Scaife University of Florida, USA
Thomas Schneider TU Darmstadt, Germany
Dominique Schroeder Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Antonio Skarmeta Gomez Universidad de Murcia, Spain
Claudio Soriente NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
Willy Susilo University of Wollongong, Australia
George Theodorakopoulos Cardiff University, UK
Ari Trachtenberg Boston University, USA
Frederik Vercauteren K.U.Leuven – ESAT/COSIC, Belgium
Steering Committee: Yvo Desmedt (Chair) University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Juan A. Garay Yahoo! Labs, USA
Amir Herzberg Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Yi Mu University of Wollongong, Australia
David Pointcheval CNRS and ENS Paris, France
Huaxiong Wang Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Villa Doria D'Angri, one of the most beautiful villas in Posillipo, Naples
30/09/2018 9:00 am
Back To Top